How Preview Works
The plugin was built to provide live preview with options to view the popup privately or publicly.
Previewing in Testing Mode
Visitors coming to a public site will see the popup unless it is set to Testing Mode. This setting allows you to preview the popup while logged-in as admin while hidden from visitors. To make setup easier we've disabled the cookie in Testing Mode. The popup will continue to display for preview after closing it, without needing to clear your browser cookie. Steps for previewing with Testing Mode.
Page Cache Can Prevent Updates from Showing
Each time plugin settings are saved the plugin automatically clears page cache sitewide. This feature works on most sites. If your site uses caching that does not respond to this feature, please clear your page cache manually each time settings are saved in order for display updates to take effect.
Automatic page cache clearing will work with most systems using cache tools. When you save changes you will see a confirmation message that cache clearing was activated.
Previewing in Public Modes
In the case that you do not want to interrupt an existing popup from showing to visitors (previously set up and running), changes are viewed live.
- If “show to all visitors” is enabled, visit your website to view the popup like a visitor whether you are logged in or out.
- If “show except to logged-in users” is enabled, log out or open a private/incognito window to view the popup.
If you’ve closed the popup while viewing it in public modes a cookie will prevent it from displaying to you again. You can remedy this by switching to Testing Mode or clearing your browser cookie under Advanced Settings. Visit Advanced Settings to check for and clear your browser cookie. Refresh your browser then wait for it to display according to the delay timer setting.